About Me

Hello there! First and foremost thanks so much for stopping by! My name is Chris and I live in the beautiful state of Michigan (home of the Great Lakes which we also call "The Third Coast").  I am a lover of designing and building furniture with a special fondness of using hand tools and traditional joinery. I have taken my journey and craft to the internet and YouTube in hopes to share some knowledge, entertain, and inspire others.

I first started woodworking 20 years ago when I was in middle school when I asked my Grandpa to help me build a fishing pole rack. My Grandpa was a very respected builder and master woodworker and I would go over to his shop as much as I could to work on different projects and learn from him. He was the greatest man I have ever known and my hero. He passed away Christmas of 2015 and since he passed I have taken the knowledge and principles I learned from him and embarked on my own woodworking journey. I began to acquire my own tools and developed my own style and passion. On this journey is where I fell in love with hand tools and traditional techniques. 

I decided to start the whole "YouTube" thing and begin creating content to share in February 2017. It was way harder than I thought it would be and took many months and countless hours of hard work before I started having any success at all. I stuck with it and the hard work paid off as I was able to eventually quite my regular full-time job at Davenport University to be a full-time content creator making woodworking and home-improvement videos. 

 

On a more personal note, if anybody cares: I grew up in a small town in Michigan and graduated high school in 2004. I joined the Air Force immediately after high school and became a Nuclear Weapons Technician and was stationed out in Minot, ND. When I got out of the Air Force I came back home and after a few dead end jobs I decided to go back to school and I got my undergrad degree in Finance.

 

In my free-time when I am not woodworking I love taking advantage of this great state's natural resources. I am an avid fly fisherman and love to hunt with my bird-dog Utz. I enjoy camping with my family.

Woodcraft did a really nice interview and article on me which has even more info on my past and who I am. You can read that here. http://bit.ly/2vhfvNL

I have also done podcast interviews with:

Made For Profit      http://bit.ly/2T08mKH

The Green Woodworker Podcast    http://bit.ly/2w8wrG6

The Make or Break Show    http://bit.ly/2VpQavQ

Follow what I'm up to on Instagram.